The Bunnell City Commission consists of a Mayor and four at-large members.

Nonpartisan election

All qualifications and elections of the City Commission and the office of Mayor shall be conducted on a nonpartisan basis without regard for or designation of political party affiliation of any nominee on any nomination petition of ballot.


Candidates for the office of City Commissioner and the office of Mayor shall qualify for such office by filing of a written notice of candidacy with the City Clerk at such time and in such manner as may be prescribed by ordinance.

Election and Terms

Beginning in March of 2010, in March of every third year, two (2) Commissioners and the Mayor shall be elected and in March of the following year, two (2) Commissioners shall be elected for terms of three (3) years. Example: In March of 2010, two (2) Commissioners and the Mayor shall be elected. Those two Commission seats and the one (1) Mayor seat would come up for election again in March 2013; and then again in March of 2016, and would continue to come to election every third year thereafter. The following year, in March of 2011, the two (2) Commissioner seats would come up for election. Those two (2) seats would come up for election in March of 2014; and then again in March of 2017, and would continue in this fashion, thus always remaining in the election the year following the election of the first two (2) Commission seats and one (1) Mayor seat.

Offices will be filled by candidates receiving the highest number of votes. Commissioners and Mayor shall be seated at the first regular meeting in April following the election date. The Commission shall set the election date by ordinance.

In the event not more than one (1) person qualifies for each designated seat of the Commission or Mayor to be filled, such candidates shall be declared elected without the necessity of being voted upon in the election and shall assume office at the first regular meeting in April following the election date. A seated member of the City Commission must resign their designated commission seat to run for City Mayor or any other office in government other than their Commission Seat only if the terms or any part of the terms run concurrently with each other. The resignation must be effective no later than the earlier of the date the officer would take office, if elected; or the date that the officer's successor is required to take office.

Next City Election:

The next City election is March 7, 2017. The election is for two Commission seats which are currently held by Vice Mayor Rogers and Commissioner Robinson. The qualifying period for this election is 8:00 AM Monday, January 9th 2017 through Noon (12:00 PM) Friday, January 13th 2017. The single polling location for the City of Bunnell is the Coquina City Hall located at 200 S. Church Street. Polling hours are 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. To become a candidate, you must be a registered voter in Flagler County, a qualified elector residing in the corporate limits of the City of Bunnell continuously for 12 months immediately preceding the date of commencement of the term of office (April 10, 2017), and hold no other public office. The salary for Commissioner is $720 per month and for Mayor is $900 per month. The filing fee is $86.40 for commissioner and $108.00 for mayor (1% of annual salary). To qualify via the petition method, valid petitions must be turned into the office of the City Clerk no later than Noon (12:00 PM) Monday, December 12th 2016. However, there are important “first steps” that must be taken to be declared as a candidate before petitions can be distributed or signed. For more information on becoming a candidate for the upcoming election contact the City Clerk’s office at 386-437-7500, or 201 W. Moody Blvd. For more information on election laws in the State of Florida, visit the websites for the Florida State Division of Elections and the Flagler County Supervisor of Elections Office.

Candidates who have qualified for the March 7, 2017 election:

The following candidates have qualified to run in the March 7, 2017 Municipal election: (listed in alphabetical order by last name)

Bonita Robinson

John Rogers

John Sowell

Florida Division of Elections
      Candidate Forms

Flagler County Supervisor of Elections